Welcome!

.NET Authors: Yung Chou, Jim Kaskade, Adine Deford, Matt Hester, Elizabeth White

News Feed Item

Grupo Salinas' Fundacion Azteca Collects Over 16 Million Toys for Underprivileged Children With its Jugueton Toy Drive

--TOYS DISTRIBUTED THROUGHOUT MEXICO, IN ADDITION TO GUATEMALA AND SOUTHWEST US--

MEXICO CITY, Jan. 8, 2013 /PRNewswire/ -- Grupo Salinas' Jugueton toy drive has once again exceeded expectations, with the collection of 16,215,523 new toys, which were transformed into millions of smiles for underprivileged children.

The Jugueton is a program spearheaded by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com). The Jugueton has become the largest toy collection campaign in Mexico, thanks to the support of millions of volunteers and donors.

Since its inception in 1995, the program has grown and even crossed borders. For the fifth year, toys were also distributed in Guatemala and southwest United States (Los Angeles, Dallas and Houston).

During the ceremonial kick-off from the city of Boca del Rio, in the Mexican state of Veracruz, Jugueton founder Jorge Garralda gave the official inauguration together with Azteca CEO Mario San Roman. Also present during the ceremony were Boca del Rio Mayor Salvador Manzur Diaz and representatives from Fundacion Soriana, Grupo Estrella Blanca and other important organizations to mark the start of distribution of toys to children awaiting the arrival of the Three Wise Men, the traditional gift-giving holiday in Mexico.

Grupo Salinas Profile.

Grupo Salinas (www.gruposalinas.com) is a group of dynamic, fast growing, and technologically advanced companies focused on creating shareholder value, building the Mexican middle class, and improving society through excellence. Created by Mexican entrepreneur Ricardo B. Salinas (www.ricardosalinas.com), Grupo Salinas operates as a management development and decision forum for the top leaders of member companies. These companies include: Azteca (www.tvazteca.com.mx; www.irtvazteca.com) Azteca America (www.aztecaamerica.com), Grupo Elektra (www.grupoelektra.com.mx), Banco Azteca (www.bancoazteca.com.mx), Advance America (www.advanceamerica.net),  Afore Azteca (www.aforeazteca.com.mx), Seguros Azteca (www.segurosazteca.com.mx) and Grupo Iusacell (www.iusacell.com). Each of the Grupo Salinas companies operates independently, with its own management, board of directors and shareholders. Grupo Salinas has no equity holdings.

Contact: Daniel McCosh; (5255) 1720-0059; [email protected]

SOURCE Grupo Salinas; Fundacion Azteca

More Stories By PR Newswire

Copyright © 2007 PR Newswire. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PRNewswire content is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of PRNewswire. PRNewswire shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.